o9 - Church of the Ghetto P.C.

Church of the Ghetto P.C. cover art


CD: out of stock
2LP: out of stock


Terminal Orange

Church of the Ghetto P.C. is an aural experience of jaw-dropping agog, like reading a new language, a kind of graffiti action-script dedicated to all the industrial back-alley disjecta of our Bill Gates-induced modernity. Sharing slang with the Schematic crew, o9 can still talk minimal with the Raster-Noton label, noise-therapy with Mego, and knows the uprock narratives of Warp's great masters.

o9's voice has the whole idiomatic spectrum intact and yet still the gospel truth is that o9 has a vocabulary all his own. Nothing can prepare you for his application of shamanistic sound, those caked beats and rhythm clusters, that catechistic technical polish that brings beaming luster to screen-frozen darkness.. . . . .

Considering the near anonymity of the o9 project - he's gone live at one Warp party in the UK and toured bruised America. And, given the fact of his so few releases - singles and compilation appearances on revered labels such as Planet-Mu, Nophi, and of course, Schematic - the question remains: Who the hell is o9 and where did the apostles of Schematic discover his burning laptop to release this first awesome full-length?

Church of the Ghetto P.C. is a stunning and convulsive ripple of deep-membrane funk and syntactical synth notes. It's not old school, it's old testament, not high-tech, but high priest. It's as important as the fucking Bible. Cracking the egg code on total beat typography, o9 has written the first hard-driven masterpiece of this new dead-end, face-to-the-terminal century.

Catalog Number: SCH 043
Release Date: January 1, 2004

Track Listing

  1. Terminal Red (3:36)
  2. Terminal Pink (4:33)
  3. Terminal Orange (6:35)
  4. Terminal Yellow (6:08)
  5. Terminal Gold (1:59)
  6. Terminal Blue (7:27)
  7. Terminal Green (9:52)
  8. Terminal Silver (4:41)
  9. Terminal Grey (6:03)
  10. Terminal White (4:24)
  11. Terminal Brown (10:55)