Ryuichi Sakamoto - Love is the Devil

Love is the Devil cover art


CD: out of print

Related Pages

Ryuichi Sakamoto artist page

Likely due to his other careers as a pop artist, producer, classical composer, actor, and fashion model, Ryuichi Sakamoto the film scorer has averaged less than one film a year since his delightfully melodic debut, Merry Christmas, Mr. Lawrence in 1983. But the Academy Award winner (The Last Emperor) has clearly eschewed quantity for quality, and his often-chilling music for 1998’s Love Is the Devil (the first feature by vidoegrapher John Maybury--a disturbing portrait of artist Francis Bacon and his dark, obsessive relationship with his model/lover, George Dyer) is no exception. Sakamoto has long resisted composing mere musical narration for his film assignments; here he gets inside the characters by using the diverse palette and electronic techniques gleaned from his often cutting-edge pop work. This masterful melange of samples, treated piano, electronics, and white noise plays like a modern horror masterpiece, an eerie techno-concerto that owes more to Sakamoto’s days as a student of electronic music and the avant-garde than to his sunny turn as leader of the Yellow Magic Orchestra. Think Bernard Herrmann displaced by an ocean and half-acentury of technology.. . . . .

Catalog Number: ASP 0987
Release Date: October 6, 1998

Track Listing

  1. Lock
  2. Fall
  3. Walk
  4. Sex
  5. Museum
  6. Bathroom
  7. Boxing
  8. Museum
  9. Atelier
  10. Bed-Museum
  11. Nightmares
  12. Switch
  13. Sex
  14. Redman
  15. George In Rain
  16. Redman
  17. Toilet
  18. Redman 3
  19. Owl
  20. Couch, Set Up, Canvas
  21. Bed
  22. NY
  23. Water Drop
  24. Paint It Blue
  25. Car Crash
  26. Suicide
  27. Monologue
  28. Love Is The Devil