James Plotkin/Mick Harris - Collapse

Collapse cover art


CD: out of print

In 1995, OLD guitarist James Plotkin, and former Napalm Death/Painkiller percussionist Mick Harris got together in Harris’ Black Box studio to record Collapse, a beatless, ambient instrumental album using looped guitar and a variety of processed sound sources. The result is a growling, low frequency set of five abrasive drone pieces in the spirit of seminal Kraut rockers Kluster. A milestone in the use of processed guitar noir, 1996’s Collapse remains a reference point for a variety of contemporary processed guitar recordings such as those issued by Norway’s Rune Gramafon label, Australian guitarist Oren Ambarchi, America’s Jim O’Rourke, Portugal’s Rafael Toral and Austria’s Christian Fennesz.. . . . .

Catalog Number: ASP 0963
Release Date: July 23, 1996

Track Listing

  1. Momentum
  2. Collision
  3. Collapse
  4. Drench
  5. Dissolve